See you in my dreams…

I have come to believe that when you dream of someone, they might be dreaming of you too.  

A few years back, I had a dream about a girl I worked with.  We weren’t friends and had never had a conversation involving anything other than work.  In my dream, she and her husband had come to our home to have dinner with my husband and I.  When they arrived they got out of their car, pulled out shotguns and shot out our windows.  Very strange and it left an impression that wouldn’t go away the next morning. 

That afternoon I watched her shopping in my department during her lunch break. 

She kept glancing at me then looking away when our eyes met. 

I was overwhelmed by the desire to tell her.  I went over to her.  “This is going to sound strange,” I began, having the kind of out-of-body experience during which that little voice in one’s head hollers, “Don’t do it!  She’s gonna think you’re a fucking lunatic!”  I did it anyway.

“I had a dream about you last night,”  I blurted.

She turned pale, then red.  “I dreamed about you too.”  

It seems my husband and I had come over to her house for dinner.  We took all the food and left. 

Though she and I did not go on to be BFF’s, we did bond in a way.  Neither one of us had ever had that kind of experience before and were left to wonder about other dreams we’d had about other people.  I had never before felt compelled to approach the subject of one of my dreams and inquire.  Now I must confess that I’m a little scared to.  Since this experience I have been recording my dreams (see About last Night for the lastest ones) and have made some surprising discoveries, sometimes on the evening news days later.  As a child I often dreampt of fires while they were in progress.  Now the news worthy items I dream of tend to be murders.  I’m glad it’s been a while since the last one.

Who knows why these things happen.  The only thing I can be sure of is that dreams are more than jumbled bits of our past being worked out by the subconscious mind.

I wonder about those dreams we all have occasionally featuring some hot stranger or celebrity we’ll never be fortunate enough to get our hands on in real life.  Does that person wake up in a tangle of sheets the next morning gasping, “OMG, who the hell was that?” 😉

~ by loretta8 on January 8, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
