Go To Hell?

How would you feel if I told you you’re going to Hell?  I may have the best of intentions.  I may be truly worried for your soul, but I’m betting that no matter what the rest of the message is, you won’t be willing to hear it. 

I know I wasn’t.  Part of my family is Catholic.  I was raised Protestant.  I grew up being told by the Catholics that I was going to Hell unless I converted to Catholicism.  The Protestant side maintained that the Catholics were going to Hell.  So tell me.  What would Jesus do and how can anyone be presumptuous enough to answer that question?

Recently a letter to the editor appeared in my local paper recounting an experience a woman had at a local church.  An image of an apparently Arab man was shown and the congregation was asked to pray for his conversion and of those like him.   http://www.news-star.com/opinions/letters/x1171015913/Distressed-by-intolerance-of-pastor

Negative responses to that letter have followed condemning tolerance.   http://www.news-star.com/opinions/letters/x1714273253/Church-preaches-message-of-truth

The one I read in the paper today basically stated that tolerance is the Devil’s way of watering down the message that Jesus is the only way to salvation.  This saddens and frightens me.  What’s next?  Will we one day resume the burning of alleged heretics in His name?

In my opinion this is a politically motivated action that should not occur in a place of worship.  What purpose could it possibly have served other than to stroke the congregation’s pride in their own supposed salvation and feed their prejudices against people of other faiths?  Divisive rhetoric like this will only continue to fragment our society and alienate us  from the rest of the world. 

We all have the right to believe what we want, but I don’t believe that right extends to feeling  justified in comdemning to damnation those who don’t agree with us.  Too much blood has been shed throughout history for just that reason.  I’ve read the Bible cover to cover more than once.  I’m still a member of the church that I was confirmed into.  I choose to call myself an Agnostic because, unlike too many people these days, I cannot presume to know the whole truth about anything, much less who is to be saved and who is not.  I believe that God is love and through His love all things are possible, Jesus is tolerance and that we should do unto others as we would have them do unto us, especially if want them to hear the rest of the message.

~ by loretta8 on December 10, 2010.

One Response to “Go To Hell?”

  1. Great post and great point. It’s almost a joke when religious groups act that way – as if, if there is a God, he/she/it would automatically condemn anyone one a different creed. It’s nonsense.
    Remind me to share this tomorrow when most of my Twitterz (in Europe) are awake 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
